## LATTA SCHOOL BOARD Minutes August 8, 2023

(Minutes submitted are unofficial until approved at the next month's regular monthly meeting.)

The Latta School Board of Trustees met for the regular monthly meeting on Tuesday, August 8, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the District Administrative Conference Room. In accordance with S.C. Code of Laws of 1976, as amended, Section 30-4-80(E). *The Dillon Herald* was notified of the time, date, place and agenda of this meeting. The agenda is also posted in the District Office and on the district website.

Trustees present were Kyle Berry, Ray George, Vanessa Harrison, Kwame Hennagan, Stuart Poston, Eleanor Powers and Jo Ann Williamson.

Kyle Berry called the meeting to order and welcomed all present and George Liebenrood opened with prayer.

There being no corrections or additions to the June 13, 2023 minutes, Eleanor Powers made a motion to approve the minutes and amend the current agenda to move teacher of the year from departmental business to before old business. Jo Ann Williamson seconded the motion. Vote was unanimous.

Keri McCormick was recognized as Latta Elementary School teacher of the year.

Emily Mew was recognized as Latta Middle School teacher of the year.

Amber Jordan was recognized as Latta High School teacher of the year.

## OLD BUSINESS

George Liebenrood gave a construction update on Latta Elementary School and Latta High School.

## DEPARTMENTAL BUSINESS

Donna Taylor presented the status reports for May 2023 and June 2023 on the General Fund budget. (Reports attached becoming part of the minutes.)

Donna Taylor gave an update on the teacher supply fund.

An accreditation status update on Latta Elementary School, Latta Middle School and Latta High School was given by Sandy Jones.

Larry Legette gave an update on the opening of school, bus drivers, school buildings and school construction.

Board of Trustees August 8, 2023 Page 2

George Liebenrood gave an update on personnel and the opening of school.

NEW BUSINESS

George Liebenrood updated the Board on breakfast and lunch student meals being free of charge.

CITIZEN INPUT ON ITEMS OF GENERAL INTEREST TO SCHOOLS

None

EXECUTIVE SESSION

None

FORMAL ACTION ON EXECUTIVE SESSION

None

There being no further business, Stuart Poston made a motion to adjourn at 6:26 p.m. Kwame Hennagan seconded the motion. Vote was unanimous.

Kyle Berry, Chair

Vanessa Harrison, Secretary

GHL:sr